PSU Vanguard Shield Icon

sports briefs


San Diego selects Terry Charles in fifth round of NFL draft

Portland State wide receiver Terry Charles was selected by the San Diego Chargers in the fifth round of the National Football League draft on Sunday.

It marked the first time a Viking football player was selected in the NFL draft since 1997. Charles was the 142nd selection overall in the draft.

The senior was a unanimous All-Big Sky Conference selection this past season after leading the Big Sky in receptions (71) and yards (1,096). He ranked 10th in the nation at the Division I-AA level in receptions and 13th in receiving yards. Charles earned first team AFCA All-American and third-team AP All-American honors.

Charles was an All-Big Sky Conference selection for the past three seasons. His Portland State campaign ends with seven school records, including touchdown receptions in a career (27) and a season (12). Charles ranks second all-time in receiving yards (3,155) and third all-time in receptions (180) at PSU.


Sixteen winter athletes receive All-Big Sky Academic Honors

Sixteen Portland State Athletes made the Big Sky Academic All-Conference list for winter sports released this week. The Big Sky honors athletes in its sponsored sports who maintain a 3.2 GPA or higher while being regular competitors in their respective

sports. Athletes from men’s and women’s basketball and men’s and women’s indoor track and field teams were honored.

Four of the Portland State Athletes who earned Academic All-Conference were also All-Conference performers in their respective sports. Jim Sattem (55-meter) and Ryan Brown (long jump) both placed second in their respective events at the Big Sky Championships to earn All-Conference honors. Kerine Harvey (triple jump) and Nikki Petticrew (women’s basketball) were also All-Conference performers.


Women’s indoor track and field:

Kerine Harvey (junior)

Anne Kawasaki (freshman)

Brooke Teller (senior)

Ashley Tendick (junior)

Men’s indoor track and field

Ryan Brown (sophomore)

Jordan Gallegos (sophomore)

Evan Garich (sophomore)

Chris Hollis (freshman)

Paul Loprinzi (freshman)

Jim Sattem (senior)

Women’s basketball

Jane Gowans (sophomore)

Krishelle Jessee (senior)

Nikki Petticrew (junior)

Michelle Tuma (senior)

Men’s basketball

Troy DeVries (freshman)

Billy Feeney (freshman)

Beth Tarasawa